How to use Telegram without sharing contacts

 244 total views


2021-04-23 05:23:16

While Telegram has a phone number-based authentication system, you can easily use this secure messaging app without sharing any of your contacts. Telegram will still allow you to add contacts by name and vice versa, other users can also find you using your own username on Telegram.

By default, Telegram syncs your contacts with the platform’s server. When someone in your contacts joins Telegram, you will receive a specific notification. On the opposite side, this person will also know that you are using Telegram.

If you want to keep your identity secret, you can stop Contact Sync. Telegram will continue to function as usual. You can add contacts by their username, or you can also create a private contact in the Telegram app.

How to stop sharing contacts in Telegram Android

You can stop syncing contacts on Telegram Android from the Settings menu. To get started, open the Telegram app on your Android smartphone and tap on the three dash menu icon in the upper left corner.

Click on “Settings

Click on

Go to the option “Privacy and Security“.

Go to

Click the switch next to the option “Sync Contacts“To return it to”Off“.

Turn off the

Now, Telegram will stop syncing new contacts, but the contacts that were synced before will still be available in the Telegram app.

To delete the contacts synced on the app, press the button “Delete Synced Contacts“.

Click the “Delete Synced Contacts” button.

From the message that pops up, click on the button “Delete” To confirm.

Click on

Telegram will immediately delete all contacts from your in-app contact book. When going to the “Contacts”, You will see that this entry is now empty.

How to stop sharing contacts in Telegram iOS

The process of disabling the contact syncing feature in the Telegram iOS app will be a bit different from the Android version.

First, open the Telegram app on your iPhone and navigate to the tab “Settings“.

Navigate to the tab “Settings”

Go to the section “Privacy and Security“.

Go to

Scroll down and select the option “Data Settings“.

Punching in "Data Settings"

Click the switch to the right of the option “Sync Contacts“To return it to”Off“.

Turn off the

Telegram will immediately stop uploading your local contacts to the platform’s servers.

To delete all the synced contacts, tap on the option “Delete Synced Contacts“.

Click on “Delete Synced Contacts”

From the message that pops up, click on “Delete” To confirm.

Click

Now, the “Contacts” tab in the app will be completely empty.

.

#Telegram #sharing #contacts

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami